Skip to content

Mokuren Dojo Challenge – 1 day cop out

by on August 27, 2013

This video is my 2c for the Mokuren Dojo prompt/challenge on “The Walks.”

Here I have to admit that I don’t do the basic drills nearly as often as is recommended. I only run one two-hour class per week (I might attend one other aikikai class on a good week) so I try to keep our warmup period as brief as possible.

Of course, these drills were designed as solo practice, so I could easily do them every day at home for five minutes. But then if I did everything that anyone ever told me I should do at home for five minutes I would not have any time to sleep, and I’ve been told you’re supposed to sleep for 8 hours a night.

I don’t do the unsoku every day, and I suppose that reveals a little bit about my priorities.

Here’s the video:

As a side note, I had not heard the unsoku (+tegatena dosa?) called “the walks” until at least 2009. I think it’s a funny thing to call them, because in my mind the first thing it teaches is a second way to move that is not walking.

Rosin, I haven’t forgotten about finding a clip of Henry teaching nikkyo, but things have been very hectic!

From → Quick hit, Video

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

