Skip to content
Tags

, ,

2013 RMR DVDs are finally ready!

by on June 5, 2013

It’s been four months since the Rocky Mountain Regional in Devner and the DVDs are finally ready to start shipping out!

The seminars cover:

Basic drills:

  • Unsoku
  • Tegatena Dosa
  • Gassho no Renshu
  • Idoryoku progression from tai sabaki through kake

Standard Kata:

  • Tanto Junanahon
  • Go no Sen no Kuzushi (aka kuzushiwaza)
  • Koryu Goshin no Kata Dai San

Applications:

  • Atemiwaza, Hijiwaza, & Ukiwaza from various grabs
  • Techniques from Moryote Mochi and Ushiro Ryote Dori

If you were one of the handful of people who gave me cash in Denver, then a DVD will be heading your way shortly. I’m just waiting to confirm addresses from a couple folks.

Otherwise, you can purchase the disk using the paypal link below. I’m selling them for $20+$2.50 shipping. I’ll bump that up to $25 in a week or two once all of the early orders have come in.

Paypal link: Buy a 2013 RMR DVD Here

I’m going to have to think long and hard about doing these DVDs in the future. I would have billed a client $950 for this amount of work, the chapters and navigation in particular, not even counting the shooting, and I doubt I’ll recoup anything close to that. If you buy a copy of this DVD, or bought one from years past, I’d be interested to know if you find the detailed navigation valuable. It would be much, much simpler to dump the footage to disk without any navigation.

We’ll see what happens moving forwards.

I’ll try to get back to posting videos of our experiments in the weeks to come. Eric and Janine are back in the area for the summer, and they’ve brought in some interesting new ideas for us to play with.

Meanwhile, I’ve finally begun working on the subtitles for the Sato DVDs. He tends to speak in long complex clauses, and since Japanese and English grammar are often completely inverted, it makes for some interesting decisions. Even with Jeff Stickle’s excellent translation of disk 1, I’m going at about 11 minutes per minute of video. Disk 2, which I’m going to have to translate myself, will be an adventure.

I’ll leave you with a line that sounds like it should be a verse from a 1950’s dance tune:

‘Moving by shaking your hip like this or using a little of your foot’s weight is called “Mawashi-ashi.”’

From → From YouTube, Update

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

