Skip to content

Runaround Kuzushiwaza Revisited

by on January 24, 2013

In this video we do something I’ve wanted to do for a while – we revisit the “runaround” kuzushiwaza that we presented in episode 14.

I got a bit carried away talking in front of my new high-key background, so if you’re feeling impatient feel free to skip ahead to 3:45, 6:36, or 8:28. I won’t be offended. In fact, I think I’m going to have the link skip ahead. If you want more context, go ahead and rewind it.

I think our next project might be playing with the Releases and the Dynamic 11 which I believe are also cut from the same cloth.

This past Monday we played with release #1 and two sotai taiso exercises that we got from two Nick Lowry videos that Eric Pearson shared with us in this post.

Here are the videos we played with:

Check out Eric’s post for some other great videos, including a great one from Eddy Wolput and Adrian Tyndale.

Edit: Our neighbors in New Hampshire at Portsmouth Aikido just posted their list of resources on Facebook and it included another drill we did on Monday: “tai no tenkan” which we used to do at the start of every class in the Ohmi Aikikan. Bonus points for Mary Heiny mentioning connection! Here’s the video:

2 Comments
  1. Erik the Strange permalink

    If I only had to choose one kata to practice practice my whole life, it would be the releases.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Very Briefly… | 207aikido

Leave a Reply

