Skip to content

Last Minute Seminar

by on August 25, 2012

Today I spent the day in Portland at a seminar featuring David Halprin, chief instructor at Framingham Aikikai. I hadn’t heard a whiff about the seminar until late, late on Thursday night, and wasn’t sure I was going to be able to get my schedule sorted in time. Luckily everything worked out, and I caught a ride down with Janine.

The most interesting tidbit from Halprin sensei was his take on ukemi. His view is that it is uke’s job to try to “catch” as much of the power of a throw as possible, for a few reasons: it helps tori/nage do the throw as properly as possible, it prepares you to take ukemi when someone really connects, it feels more satisfying for both people, and tori/nage is less likely to try to hit you with something else if you catch a bunch of his power the first time.

This is a slightly different approach then the one that Tyler presented in Galway (though they are related), but I feel that both have their place. It certainly is very satisfying for both uke and nage/tori when a lot of power is transferred, and you end up much more often in the big hanmi stances that I associate with aikikai.

It’s fun to visit new groups and try to mimic other ways of doing things…

A great seminar, and a great chance to meet some semi-local aikidoka (and, surprisingly, some fellow paleo/primal folks as well – and PrimalCon insiders at that! (I’ve got to get my act/finances together and register for PrimalCon 2013 before it fills up…)).

I’m glad I heard about the seminar in time, and now I’m on the mailing list, so I’m looking forward to more seminars in the future!

Here are a couple of techniques we did at the seminar – obviously similar to sumiotoshi from the Tomiki curriculum, but one of them (maki-otoshi) had enough differences to cause us to fumble the footwork at first…

Maki-otoshi:

Tai-otoshi:

3 Comments
  1. The Maki-Otoshi is in the Big 10 kata in the Tomiki lineage. We call it Ude-guruma – arm wheel.

    http://tomikiaikido.blogspot.com/2010/09/notes-on-owaza-ju-pon-big-10.html

    • Yes, I shouldn’t speak of “the Tomiki curriculum” because there’s so much variation even within the various flavors of Tomiki. I’m aware of a Big 10 kata, but I’ve never seen it. I’ll need to learn that along with the releases.

      There are a number of other kata I’m aware of but have never learned. Goshin no kata Dai 1,2 & 5 (does it go higher?) for example…

      I saw the Dynamic 11 for the first time at Nationals this year when Dave Nettles presented it. Yet another kata related to the Goshin No Kata / Kuzushiwaza and the Releases. The more I understand the kuzushiwaza etc… the easier I find all other types of aikido. There’s so much power in the te no ura movements and proper timing.

  2. The koryu kata go up to six. I doubt I will ever bother to learn them all.

    The releases are a must have. If I had only one kata to work for the rest of my life it would be the releases.

    I have a killer seminar on the big 10 on a vhs tape somewhere. When I find it and get it made digital I will make sure you get a copy.

Leave a Reply

