Skip to content

A Kono Sensei Counter

by on February 1, 2012

I’m out in Denver right now for instructor training and the Rocky Mountain Regional. I’ll be shooting the video of the seminars again this year, and eventually I’ll be putting together another DVD. Some of the footage might go up on YouTube as well. In the meantime, we’ve got another video that we shot last week of a technique that we experimented with from the Burlington Kono seminar in October 2011 (I’m partway through putting together a DVD of that seminar as well).

This technique wasn’t something that Kono talked about in detail, he just did it once to illustrate a point, but it looked interesting, and we had a good time experimenting with it in class.

Here’s the video:

I attended Dave’s regular class last night and I already have a bunch of new tips and tricks to bring back. I’m sitting at the dining room table writing now and Ash and Dave are dissecting TSYR sword techniques in the living room. I’m going to have to go take some of this in.

More to follow.

From → Video

2 Comments
  1. I like your thoughts. His lesson spurred you to make some nice creative stuff.

    FYI the Japanese for the pivot point is Jiku 軸.

    Personally I see different mechanics – but … that is the lesson I got out of it.

  2. Funny, that word’s been bouncing around a lot this week. We’ve been discussing jiku a lot out here in Denver. It’s a crucial concept, and it’s always nice to have the correct vocabulary.

Leave a Reply

