Skip to content

The mind-boggling fall

by on January 17, 2012

Falls are always part of our warmup at the beginning of class. In part this is just a good way to get loose and ready, but I also like to use the time to work on new falls and develop my ukemi further.

In this video I talk about one fall that I saw in an embu competition at Waseda and have tried to develop ever since. I’m nowhere near the level of the uke who inspired me, but I have managed to make slow but steady progress.

If anyone has any insight into this fall, or another interesting fall to work on, drop us a line!

Edit: Thanks to Sensei Strange for this “feather breakfall” video. (Proper vocabulary always helps a google search!) We’ll have to try this drill out soon.

From → Video

5 Comments
  1. While it looks pretty, I vote the martial applications are dubious.

    If you dig it though this video will help.

    • I’ll be the first to admit that martial applicability is not the only reason I practice aikido. Thanks for the link – this is exactly what I was looking for!

      • The USF drill is a MUCH easier way to learn the feather breakfall. We tried it out last night and everyone was doing decent falls very quickly. I definitely recommend it!

  2. Glad I could of service

  3. BE of service. I need to get better about rereading before I post.

Leave a Reply

