Skip to content

Tension and Release

by on January 2, 2012

Today was our first evening back after the holidays, and we spent much of class working on the last technique that we showed in the recent kotegaeshi video – building up tension and then releasing and rotating to throw uke. None of us were very successful, but we did have a few insights for further experimentation. The biggest insight came when Eric remembered something he had felt done to him – a series of repeated tensioning and releasing, which was very similar to something Shishida sensei showed me after the 2009 internationals in Kyoto. If uke doesn’t go completely over on the first release, a second quick jolt of tension and subsequent release can bring him closer to falling. Rinse and repeat until uke reaches the mat.

Unfortunately, this is much easier said than done. We know we’re flirting with a great technique, but none of us are there yet. I think one of the keys is going to be to walk as fine a line as possible between tension and release – to not enter too much when building tension, and to not retreat too much when releasing, which should allow tori to stay connected to deliver the next jolt or release properly. One could probably spend a lifetime trying in vain to perfect this technique, but we’ll keep plugging away at it.

From → Quick hit

2 Comments
  1. Funny I was using these words in class tonight. Tension Release

    Where are you building tension? If you are feeling it in your arms you may be off the mark. I have had good success creating the tension by connecting then dropping my hips. If you feel tension bulding in his structure – the release comes from taking a small step.

    Peace brothers! Keep up the awesome work. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Tension can be a funny thing. Just tonight we were working on nikkyo and I thought I was extending fully, but uke pointed out to me that I was holding tension in my own wrist. I’m much better at feeling that tension in my arms than I was, but I’ve got a long way to go.

Leave a Reply

