Skip to content

Revalations from Kotegaeshi

by on December 15, 2011

So here is the long awaited video about our experimentation with kotegaeshi against a resisting opponent. Working through this technique really helped us to realize some great general concepts that are sure to be the focus of future blogs and videos. Collaboration and integration of ideas is the key to much of our development and we welcome you to be a part of it. We welcome your feedback, thoughts, or suggestions.

From → Video

3 Comments
  1. This is my first time watching the video. I think I can already see part of my problem with the technique. My arm starts out parallel to Eric’s, but as the throw happens it goes perpendicular and disconnects. I think this is because I am not accommodating the fall he wants to take by moving my feet. Eric is being nice and has chosen to go for a big fall, and I have to accommodate that, move my feet, and open up a bigger hole for him to fall into. In short, I’m trying to dictate the technique too much, rather than just staying connected. – C

  2. It all looks good. Adding a little more principle (of course) will smooth it out. I like hearing you say and talk about connection a lot. That is where the juju is at.

    Some things I might try –

    1. get uke moving. If his feet are planted he can use muscle. A moving uke is much easier to handle.
    2. Get kote gaeshi out of the hands as much as possible. Connect with the hands and move the body around the connect to create the ‘return”
    3. IN full crazy tension the most solid response I use is to touch his face with one hand and create the gaeshi with the other. Really if there is too much tension in the hand, it is what I believe Ricky Jay caled “ki pooling” Draw his attention back to his face through a shomen and uke will melt.

    I never throw from the point of tension. That moment of tension lets me know where my opponents mind is. Since you know where his mind is, never fight the opponent where he wants to. Either change his mind or attack another part.

    Good stuff guys. Thanks for your continuing experiments. Hopefully I will get to the point I can just shoot video responses so we can get a dialogue going.

  3. Ash permalink

    Hey guys, good stuff. Creating a line of force only to go around it is a key principle. As you alude, this shows up in lots of the katate dori. For the kote gaeshi in particular, I think you’re focusing too much on needing to turn the wrist over. Why do we turn the wrist over in kote gaeshi? We do this to create a bone lock from the wrist to the elbow to the shoulder and finally to uke’s center. We use this connect to disrupt uke’s structure and apply force down by dropping our own center (tai otoshi). What happens if uke resists with muscles? I can’t get a bone lock anymore, but I don’t need one. Uke has given me a muscle lock straight to his center. I just need to connect, disrupt uke’s structure, and then drop my own center.

Leave a Reply

